Pregnancy diary: week 32


Wow, I’m at the end of week 32! It’s unbelievable how fast the past few weeks have gone. I’m now on maternity leave, as my last day at work was on Friday, and it’s making everything seem much more real  – our little girl will be with us very soon!

Last Sunday one of my best friends, Amy arranged a surprise baby shower for me at her house. It was a complete surprise and I couldn’t believe she’d organised it for me. There was pink bunting, tasty treats and gifts and amazing cupcakes and chocolate lollies made by my friend Bekka – it was a truly special afternoon.

In terms of symptoms, the past few weeks have felt quite uncomfortable as I’m feeling so heavy now, and even putting socks on has become difficult as there’s no room to bend. Living in leggings is also becoming very boring – I can’t wait to get back into my old clothes! I’m really craving fresh food – fruit and vegetables – and have a real thing about anything orange flavoured at the moment!

Week 32 bump

Week 32 bump

We’ve had two of our three antenatal classes, with the last one tomorrow night. I thought these would make me feel more relaxed about preparing for birth but in truth it made me feel quite anxious. A natural birth is dependent on so many things, such as the baby turning and being in the right position, and it made me realise how easily things can go wrong. I hate the thought of the situation being taken out of my hands, but I think the most important thing to do will be to remain as calm as possible – we’ll see how I get on when it actually comes to the labour!

I am surprised that we haven’t focused on any breathing techniques in our classes, as the focus so far has been on what to expect and what could potentially go wrong. Tomorrow’s class focuses on life after birth i.e. breastfeeding, changing, how our lives will change etc., so I’m looking into ways to remain calm in labour including looking at hypnotherapy.

The tiredness is definitely creeping back in and I feel ready to crash in the afternoons now, but I’m still trying to stay as active as possible. I’m now doing month 8 of the Tracy Anderson Pregnancy Project DVDs and I feel so much more energised when I have done a workout, so it must be doing some good!

Now that I am on maternity leave I’m hoping I can spend more time on my blog, and can’t wait to do some posts on Baby Smith’s clothes and nursery as well as focusing on some fashion posts of course!

Until next time…thanks for reading, Stay Chic!

Leave a Reply

