Pregnancy diary: weeks 34 – 36


As I write this it’s just dawned on me that I am now in my ninth month of pregnancy! By now, I have to say, I feel like I’ve been pregnant for so long it’s hard to remember what it feels like not to be.

I’m now at that stage where I feel so uncomfortable I’m more than ready for it to be over. Even though the thought of giving birth is very daunting, between pregnancy insomnia and being unable to get comfortable in any position except sitting upright on an exercise ball, I’m finding this last stage a real struggle.

At around week 33/34 I found even walking for more than about twenty minutes is a real struggle. Having to stop to catch my breath is making me feel frustrated, and I can’t wait to be able to exercise properly again (although I know that won’t be for quite a while yet!).

Week 36 bump

Week 36 bump

But enough moaning – it’s not all doom and gloom. We are after all getting closer each day to meeting out little girl and this is all for her.

In the past few weeks we’ve completed our purchases such as a baby swing, items for mine and Baby Smith’s hospital bag, a steriliser etc. and have to say this has made me feel a lot calmer and more prepared.

We also had our first appointment this week with one of the lovely midwives at the Crowborough Birthing Centre, who confirmed that our baby is head down (although not in the pelvis quite yet). This is such a relief as at our last appointment at the hospital, we were told she was in an oblique position and may need to be turned. I’ve been bouncing on my exercise ball every day so hopefully this has helped!

At the end of this week our baby will be considered full term and could potentially arrive any day. It’s such an exciting thought and hubby and I have had many conversations recently along the lines of ‘our lives are going to change forever!’ We can’t wait to start our little family and introduce our girl to all our friends and family. Come on Baby Smith – we can’t wait to meet you!

I also wanted to say huge congratulations to some fellow bloggers on the arrival of their precious little bundles of joy in the past few weeks – Hannah Maggs and The London Mum . Congrats ladies – I can’t wait to join you!

Thanks for reading, Stay Chic!

One comment

  1. Well, they say pregnancy insomnia prepares you for the baby – at least you’ll be used to getting no sleep! ;)

    So excited for you both dear, the next few months are going to be some of the most memorable moments of your lives together – I just can’t wait to meet the little one! :)

Leave a Reply

