Skin saviours


Skin care is something every woman has an opinion on, and while some are blessed with a beautiful, blemish free complexion, others have to work hard to keep it that way. Personally, my skin has always been sensitive and with a combination/oily skin type, blemishes have always been inevitable.

Now in my late 20s, my skin was something I hoped would improve with age, and in some ways it has, but it’s still not as flawless as I would like.

During pregnancy others commented on my ‘pregnancy glow’, which personally I couldn’t see! Strangely, immediately after I had Aria my skin looked better than it had in years. Unfortunately this didn’t last, as a week or so later I felt like a teenager again! I assume this was due to my hormones going haywire as my body attempted to balance itself again, but I have to say it really got me down. I was recommended a form of pill by my doctor which, according to the leaflet that came with them, could make me more prone to blood clots. As soon as I read that there was no way I was putting that into my already hormone crazy system!

After some consideration, the biggest change I decided to make was to my skin care routine. Growing up, I always had it drummed into me how important it is to cleanse, tone and moisturise twice a day, and with sensitive skin I’m an avid lover of Clarins products as it seems to be the only brand suitable for my skin. For years I’ve used their range specifically created for sensitised or dry skin however, it was only in the last few weeks I considered their other skin care products for combination/oily skin types.

Apprehensive to change my routine at first, I ordered several samples from their website including the Toning Lotion with Iris, Water Purify One-Step Cleanser and Hydra-Matte Lotion moisturiser.

Clinique and Clarins

A few weeks ago I had also begun to use Clinique’s Anti-Blemish Solutions Clinical Clearing Gel, which I now apply after my moisturiser at bed time on any blemishes.

The combination of these products has been my skin saviour! My t-zone is no longer oily, my makeup last longer and I’m no longer battling a shiny face come midday. Clarins’ products are fantastic for my sensitive skin and to be honest, I wouldn’t use anything else. If you also suffer with oily and blemish prone skin, I can’t recommend these products highly enough.

Do you also love Clarins and Clinique? Have you found their products work well for you too? I’d love to know.

Thanks for reading.

Em xx

Leave a Reply

