Ones to watch in 2013

Fashion, Music

As we’re approaching the end of the year it’s appropriate to think about the New Year and what’s to come. Particularly who and what might make it big in 2013.

As music and fashion are both big passions of mine I thought I would mix the two in this post, and write about who I think will be big in 2013, as well as considering their style in my Top 3 picks.

3. Lianne La Havas

After seeing Lianne on Jools Holland one night I couldn’t wait to hear more. She initially reminded me of Corinne Bailey Rae, but I hate to make comparisons and it was clear she was a unique talent. Seeing her perform live at Scala early this year was an amazing experience, and her album ‘Is Your Love Big Enough’ is definitely one of my favourites this year and has just been named as iTunes album of 2012.

Lianne La Havas

Lianne La Havas

In terms of her style I guess you could say it’s slightly androgynous, with quirky vintage elements such as floral shirts and bombers, and beautiful necklaces. This is a trend that the high street have picked up on in recent months, and I for one love adding something different to an otherwise pretty standard outfit.

Lianne La Havas

Lianne La Havas

2. Foxes

I came across Foxes by chance on the music downloads website RCRD LBL when I heard her track White Coats. After that I was hooked by her enchanting vocals and the interesting musical arrangement on the tracks on her two EPs, and couldn’t wait to hear more.

Foxes

Foxes

As well as being an exciting vocal talent, Foxes singer; Louisa Rose Allen, also has a fab vintage style. As the lover of a heavy fringe, the doe eyed singer hits the spot for me and her combination of tomboy-ishness and femininity is the perfect balance.

Foxes

Foxes

1. Jessie Ware

Pop soulstress Jessie Ware had to be my number one. I was first introduced to her after she supported Lianne La Havas at Scala earlier this year, and just loved her vocals and style. I think what really made me warm to her is that she reminds me of the type of music I listened to growing up, and she has a real 90s soul feel to her music with the modern twist of using great samples to make it fresh.

Jessie Ware

Jessie Ware

Jessie’s style compliments her music perfectly and I think she’s really hit on a trend that’s big at the moment – which seems to be the refresh of 90s style. Her signature style is high waisted trousers or skirts combined with cropped tops and big jewellery, with her hair mostly in a high bun – something I saw a lot of her fans imitating at her gig at Concorde 2 in Brighton last month.

Jessie Ware

Jessie Ware

After already having a fantastic 2012 which included being nominated for the Mercury prize, Jessie is surely destined for even bigger things in 2013.

Leave a Reply

