The shoe makes the girl – a heel obsession

Fashion

My love affair with heels began at a young age. I remember, aged four, tottering around in a pair of my mum’s red high heels and not being able to wait until I could wear my own.

From the ages of 16 until about 22 I don’t think I even owned a pair of flat shoes (much to the despair of my now husband when I complained of blisters!), and even remember going whole days doing bar work in my heels – yes it was painful, but I still loved them.

At just 5 foot I have to say high heels are a godsend, but not just because they add a few inches of height – they can completely change your posture and boost your confidence. And I’m not the only woman to think so. Iconic women through history have praised the person who invented high heels – particularly Marilyn Monroe, who even supposedly had one heel shorter than the other to create her infamous ‘wiggle’.

"I don't know who invented high heels, but all women owe him a lot." - Marilyn Monroe

“I don’t know who invented high heels, but all women owe him a lot.” – Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn isn’t the only iconic woman to have had a love affair with high heels – Filipino politician, Imelda Marcos is said to have a collection of over 3,000 pairs.

Of course, there are some women who detest them, finding them uncomfortable, hard to walk in and, if they are tall, a bit of an issue. However, I’ve always thought the right pair of shoes can make or break an outfit, and in the right pair of heels a woman can conquer anything.

Here’s some heels I’m lusting after at the moment:

Mustard perspex wedges, ASOS

Mustard perspex wedges, ASOS

I love the colour of these wedges from ASOS, and the perspex heels really make them feel on-trend. They’re perfect for Summer and priced at £40 are fairly reasonable. I’d wear them with jeans and a white t-shirt for a casual day look, adding red nail polish to really make the colours pop.

White ankle strap court shoes, Topshop

White ankle strap court shoes, Topshop

White heels are red hot this season, and these ones from Topshop can be worn day or night. Priced at £48, why not pair them with black jeans and a  white peplum top or a black dress to channel the monochrome look.

Black and neon sandals, New Look

Black and neon sandals, New Look

The embellished detail on these sandals from New Look really creates a festival feel. The contrast of the black and neon will make your feet the envy of many, and priced at just £34.99 how could you resist?

Blue and green heels, Zara

Blue and green heels, Zara

I love the artistic feel of these heels from Zara. The jewel colours are gorgeous and the style is so elegant. These would look perfect with black peg trousers and a white shirt. At £49.99 they are a little more expensive however, they would be an investment as I can see these being on trend for years to come.

Thanks for reading. Stay Chic!

Leave a Reply

