Pregnancy diary: weeks 29 – 31

Pregnancy

I’ve been very slack with my blog posts lately, but I’ve just been so tired I haven’t been able to summon the energy to do anything but crash on the sofa most evenings! As soon as I hit the third trimester I just felt absolutely shattered by about 3pm most days. I think the fact I can’t sleep for more than a few hours at a time doesn’t help either, as I’m having to change position so often. This is also making me tetchy – not good!

I’ve got 6 working days left until I go on maternity leave and I have to say I can’t wait. Baby Smith is feeling increasingly heavy and I am definitely a waddling pregnant lady now – delightful!

On the plus side our little girl has been kicking up a storm, with her punches, kicks and wriggles. It’s such a strange but lovely feeling to watch little feet or hands poking out and moving around, but still very surreal to think there’s a baby making those movements. I honestly don’t think it will feel real until she is here.

Here is the bump at week 31:

Week 31 bump

Week 31 bump

Last week hubby had the week off work and painted the nursery. Her furniture also arrived from Mamas & Papas and looks absolutely perfect – it’s even better than I remember it at the Baby & Toddler Show. All her little clothes and outfits are hanging in her wardrobe and waiting in her drawers. I can’t believe anything will be so tiny as to fit in them!

I can’t wait to write a post and show you the complete room. We just need to get a few more bits for the walls to complete it.

This week was another first, as we had our first antenatal appointment. I didn’t really know what to expect and I don’t think the nine other couples in the room did either! I thought it would make me feel better about the impending labour, but in truth, I actually feel more nervous!

Listening to the midwife explain the process, which is so reliant on the baby turning and being in a good position, and the various stages of labour left me feeling exhausted at the thought of it. The stats that two thirds of first time births have some sort of complication – be that requiring assisted delivery, a caesarean etc. – made me apprehensive I will get the natural water birth I’m hoping for. BUT I’m trying to remain positive. One thing the midwife did say is the more support you have and the more relaxed you feel, the more likely things will run smoothly.

We have two more appointments to attend and are also planning to attend the water birth class in a few weeks, which I’m hoping will help me feel more relaxed. I can’t wait to go and visit the birthing centre in Crowborough as I still feel this is going to be the best option for me.

I also wanted to say a huge congratulations to fellow blogger Lucie of Lucie & The Bump, who gave birth to her gorgeous little boy Harry on the 28th November.

Are any other mums-to-be due early next year? I’d love to hear how you’re feeling and what you’re experiencing.

Thanks for reading, Stay Chic!

One thought on “Pregnancy diary: weeks 29 – 31

Leave a Reply

