Pregnancy diary: week 40

Pregnancy

So Baby Smith’s due date was yesterday…and we’re still waiting for her arrival! I have to say I really thought she would be early, but it turns out she’s far too comfortable to come out just yet.

As my due date came and went yesterday I couldn’t help but feel a little disappointed. I know that it’s quite rare for a baby to come on their actual due date, but I had my fingers crossed – especially after a false alarm early Sunday morning.

After experiencing painful contractions for a number of hours, we arrived at the birthing centre at about 4am on Sunday morning, only for everything to completely slow down and ease off. The midwife confirmed something was happening but at only 1cm dilated it wasn’t time yet. Since then I’ve been experiencing Braxton Hicks more frequently and had quite a heavy feeling in my stomach, but nothing is progressing just yet!

Week 40 bump

Week 40 bump

Needless to say hubby and I had a sleepless night on Sunday, especially as we were then referred to our local hospital for a blood test as our midwife was concerned about a rash I had developed on my stomach, the tops of my legs and arms. She was concerned it could be related to something called Obstetric cholestasis – a potentially serious liver disorder that can develop in pregnancy.

After waiting in A&E for over two hours, due to the fact there was a complete lack of communication between the maternity ward and A&E, we were eventually seen and told it was unlikely to be related to Obstetric cholestasis as this rarely causes a rash – only severe itching. A blood test confirmed this was not related to Obstetric cholestasis and I was given some Aqueous cream to ease the itching for what is called a PUPPP rash. Just when you think you’ve experienced everything pregnancy can throw at you!

I’d never heard of PUPPP before but it’s described as – “PUPPP stands for “pruritic urticarial papules and plaques of pregnancy.” In plain English, PUPPP is an itchy, bumpy rash — annoying but benign — that usually develops on the abdomen near the umbilical area and spreads to the thighs and extremities. It’s most common in first-time mothers and those carrying multiples.”

My description? A rash that makes you want to tear your skin off. It is literally the worst itching I have ever experienced. The Aqueous cream has done little but temporarily relieve the itching and I’m instead now using an Aloe Vera gel – this seems to help more but unfortunately the rash will not clear up until after delivery.

I wanted to include this in this post as I just don’t think there’s enough information about this condition, and the fact there’s nothing to clear it up is the most frustrating thing when you’re already so uncomfortable during pregnancy. I have read online that something called pine tar soap is supposed to be very effective for this rash, and so have ordered some to try – fingers crossed!

I’m hoping this will be my last pregnancy diary entry and our little one will be making an appearance soon. As soon as she does I will let you know!

Thanks for reading, Stay Chic!

 

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy diary: week 40

  1. The rash sounds like an additional discomfort thrown at you! It’s really not long now though, at this stage it feels like the baby is never going to come.. but she will 😉 Good luck!!!

    xx

  2. I predict that baby Smith will arrive by Thursday… Fingers crossed! Can’t wait to meet her hunny, you will do wonderfully!
    Lots of love, Amz xxx

Leave a Reply

