What pregnancy has taught me

Pregnancy

At nearly 42 weeks pregnant there’s not much more to report in terms of symptoms and progression, so in this post I wanted to tell you all what pregnancy has taught me so far.

But first, here’s Baby Smith bump at 41 weeks –

Week 41 bump

Week 41 bump

So, onto what pregnancy has taught me…

  1. Everyone has an opinion – From commenting on the size of your baby bump to what you should be eating, anyone and everyone seems to have an opinion on your pregnancy. During my pregnancy I’ve had perfect strangers comment on how my baby bump is big/small/high/low at various stages, and what I’d say to any other pregnant woman is – ignore whatever people say! As difficult as this is, especially when you feel over-sensitive most of the time, everyone’s body develops differently. We are all different shapes and sizes, and at only 5 foot my bump really had nowhere to hide from early on! Whatever shape you are is right for you.
  2. Pregnancy is hard – This may seem obvious, but before I was pregnant I had no idea how difficult pregnancy was to go through. I have a whole new respect for women who have experienced it because it’s no easy ride. Sure, everyone is different and some women seem to breeze through pregnancy without a hint of morning sickness or drama. From bleeding at six weeks, horrendous morning sickness from six to fourteen weeks and developing PUPPP at 37 weeks, it certainly hasn’t been easy. Your body and emotions go through so many changes and I honestly don’t think anything can prepare you for it. But, leading onto number 3…
  3. You’re stronger than you think – I thought my morning sickness would never end and I often had days where I couldn’t even keep down water without being sick. Sitting on the bathroom floor feeling I couldn’t take any more is still fresh in my mind BUT I got through it. With support from my husband and the thought that this was a sign my baby was developing I got through.
  4. Not all midwives are the caring type  Before I was pregnant I always had an image of midwives being nurturing, kind women who were considerate and caring. This is certainly the case with the majority I’ve seen during the past nine months but there are some that make you wonder whether they’re really suited to the position. During some of my appointments I’ve felt like ‘just another patient’ they want to get in and out in a time slot, and some are just plain blunt. Telling a pregnant woman her baby is in the ‘wrong’ position (possibly oblique), which is worse than having a breech baby and would likely lead to a caesarean is just one of the comments I encountered this week. After a presentation scan it was confirmed my baby is, as she has been since 36 weeks, lying head down with her head engaged. Obviously this is a huge relief, but telling a woman bluntly she may need a caesarean as if it was nothing left me devastated and in tears. Luckily the majority of midwives I have seen have been nothing but kind and personable so here’s to them!
  5. There’s no such thing as a ‘due date’ – I’d never considered this before, but the idea of a ‘due date’ seems rather ridiculous. I think during my pregnancy my so called ‘due date’ has changed twice with about three days between each one, with the hospital settling on the earliest date – the 3rd February. I had no idea before, but since reading my Hypnobirthing and Pregnancy book ‘What to Expect When You’re Expecting’, a pregnancy in the UK is considered full term from 37 weeks to 40 weeks. Just like anything, every pregnancy is different and there’s is no such thing really as ‘overdue.’ In France a full-term pregnancy is considered to be 41 weeks and in Kenya it is 43 weeks. One thing I read recently was that several women have told their friends and relatives their due date is 10 days over the predicted ‘due date’, and I have to say that’s not a bad idea!

    Maybe my next post will be a birth announcement – here’s hoping!

    Thanks for reading, Stay Chic!

 

 

One thought on “What pregnancy has taught me

Leave a Reply

