First stage weaning

Family

It’s been so hard to find the time to blog lately, and while Aria is taking a nap I’m furiously typing before she wakes up!

Aria will be 6 months old on Sunday (6 month update post coming soon!) and we started the weaning journey three weeks ago. Although the official guidelines advise that you wait until your baby is 6 months old before you start weaning, I just trusted my instinct. Aria is such an inquisitive baby and she’d been trying to grab our food and had been watching us so intently when we were eating for a while, I just felt it was time.

We decided to follow the Annabel Karmel Complete Baby and Toddler Meal Planner book and, as I wanted to make everything for Aria from scratch (paranoid Mummy – I want to know exactly what’s in her food!), I also ordered the fantastic VonShef steamer and blender which I use to make all her purées. The great thing about this book is that it gives you a great insight into the first foods to try with your little one, as well as advising on the foods that your baby could potentially have an allergy to, and best of all you can follow a ready-made meal planner. I love this as I can plan all Aria’s food for the coming weeks, make them all on one day and freeze individual portions (these will last up to 8 weeks in the freezer) which I can get out the night before – anything that makes life easier!

To freeze, I use some individual portion pots which I purchased from JoJo Maman Bebe – they’re fantastic as they stack in trays in the freezer and just one pot is currently a great portion size for Aria.

Trying carrot for the first time

Trying carrot for the first time

140814_Firststageweaning_Aria_spoon

Lots of people start their baby on just baby rice, but I decided to start with mashed banana mixed with some of her milk to make it creamy. As with anything new, Aria was a little unsure at first – she looked as me as if to say “Mum, what the hell is this you’ve put in my mouth?!”, but after a few mouthfuls she couldn’t get enough! During the week we moved through the planner to carrot, sweet potato, butternut squash and pear. It was so exciting trying new flavours with her and watching her reactions! We’ve got to the stage now where she will try to take the spoon off you to feed herself – cue messy baby (and Mummy!).

We’re now giving Aria two meals a day, increasing this to three next week, and she’s taken to it so well. Sure, there are definitely things she isn’t so keen on (Sweet vegetable medley – parsnip, carrot and potato) but I’m amazed how well she’s adapted. I am a little nervous of giving her things like slices of toast later on, because of the choking risk, but I’m attending a baby first aid course on Saturday so maybe I’ll feel calmer after that!!

With regards to Aria’s milk, she is currently having four feeds a day – approximately 210ml per feed – most of which she finishes but often she’ll leave around 20-40ml at one to two feeds. I don’t know if this is a sign to cut down yet, but milk is still so important so I’m making up 210ml bottles.

Have you started weaning your baby yet? Did you decide to go down the purée route or try baby-led weaning?

Thanks for reading!

Em xx

Leave a Reply

