It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

Christmas, Lifestyle

Can you believe we’re now in December? I can’t believe how fast this year has gone. This time last year I was heavily pregnant and had a few weeks until I went on maternity leave. What a difference a year makes! Safe to say this has been the most hectic, emotional, testing and happiest year of our lives, and as it’s Aria’s first Christmas I’m feeling even more excited about the festive season than normal.

Due to the arrival of our little one I’ve found it hard to focus on blogging this year, but I’m determined to be more committed in 2015 (promise!) and in that spirit I’ve decided to TRY and blog every week this month in the run up to Christmas. I’ll be writing a festive post every day and sharing with you our Christmas preparations, Winter outfits and basically anything Christmas related. (How many times can I get the word Christmas into this post?!)

So, to kick things off I thought I’d share with you a few of our Christmas traditions, and new ones we hope to have now we’re a family of three.

Something we’re doing for the third year running this Christmas is making our own Christmas cake. Using the fruit cake recipe used for our wedding cake, it’s a process we start about 8 weeks before and something that can’t fail to get you excited about the season to come. Last year we made our own marzipan and icing as well, and I’ll be posting the recipe and pictures in a post this month. Little tip – feel free to add as much brandy as you like, it is Christmas after all!

For the past four or five years hubby and I have made a point of snuggling up with a glass of champagne on Christmas Eve to watch one of our favourite festive films – It’s a Wonderful Life. Although it may not be the most cheerful festive film, it has a happy ending and we love it. If you haven’t seen it I recommend watching it as I guarantee it’ll have you saying ‘Every time a bell rings, an angel gets his wings’ until January!

ItsAWondrflLife_image

One of my favourite activities is putting up the tree. We’ve never had a real tree, but plan to have one next year, so will be putting up our faithful black tree (yes, black!) again this year. We tend to buy at least one new decoration each year, and last year whilst in Stratford in August came across a Christmas shop that is open all year round! We couldn’t fail to get caught up in the spirit as we entered. With a countdown to Christmas chalk board on the door and carols resonating inside, we bought new decorations for the tree.

This Christmas is extra special as it will be Aria’s first Christmas. Even though she’ll only be 10 months old I am so excited for her to experience it all. A friend of mine recently said that – “when you have children you re-live the magic of Christmas through their eyes,” and it’s so true. We thought we’d start a tradition of buying Aria a new decoration for the tree every year, and after a long search I finally found the perfect one in the form of a blonde haired, glittery fairy. She is truly perfect for her and I can’t wait to hang it on the tree.

Arias_first_Christmas_dec

What are your Christmas traditions? Will you be making any new ones this year?

Thanks for reading! xx

 

Leave a Reply

